From Off

Travel, the Lifestyle

When Will My Backyard Emerge: A Poll March 26, 2008

Filed under: Gardening,Maine,nature,Portland,Uncategorized — janne88 @ 1:49 pm

So this is our backyard:

img_0719.jpg

I know, it’s kind of pitiful looking right now. But that’s not the point. The point is that when we rented the place, all we could see was a big space that looked something like our own personal Arctic corner. Over the past week, though, the snow has begun to recede, and we’re delighted to see this lovely brick patio appearing. The place has potential! But, as you can see from the photo, there’s a problem. The house shadow. It’s keeping the final third of our backyard under deep ice cover, and what I want to know is WHEN? When, friendly Mainers, will I see the whole backyard?

I’ve checked the weather, and it promised be 47 degrees tomorrow but also to return to freezing nearly immediately. This tundra seems like it will require more than just one day of warm temps, so I’m guessing tomorrow won’t be the day my idyllic courtyard fully appears. I’m guessing I might get a glimpse of my future summer by April, though. Whad’ya think?

Also, on a little side note, does anyone know what that little dome structure is? Something to grow some sort of vegetation on, maybe? Kevin suggested that it’s a miniature playground. I’m thinking no.

 

Leave a comment